Jan 28, 2013

YA Review: Shades of Earth (Across the Universe #3) by Beth Revis

Shades of Earth
by Beth Revis
Hardcover 369 pages
Published January 15th 2013 by Razorbill
Source: received as present
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Goodreads summary: The final book in the  New York Times bestselling trilogy, perfect for fans of Battlestar Galactica and Prometheus!
Amy and Elder have finally left the oppressive walls of the spaceship Godspeed behind. They're ready to start life afresh--to build a home--on Centauri-Earth, the planet that Amy has traveled 25 trillion miles across the universe to experience.
But this new Earth isn't the paradise Amy had been hoping for. There are giant pterodactyl-like birds, purple flowers with mind-numbing toxins, and mysterious, unexplained ruins that hold more secrets than their stone walls first let on. The biggest secret of all? Godspeed's former passengers aren't alone on this planet. And if they're going to stay, they'll have to fight.
Amy and Elder must race to discover who--or what--else is out there if they are to have any hope of saving their struggling colony and building a future together. They will have to look inward to the very core of what makes them human on this, their most harrowing journey yet. Because if the colony collapses? Then everything they have sacrificed--friends, family, life on Earth--will have been for nothing.

In short, Shades of Earth was frexing brill. The long long wait for the final installment in a great series was well worth it.

So far I've learned that you really never know what to expect from Beth Revis, but the last book in the trilogy is a whole new shade of unpredictable. This book was so stressful to read (but positively stressful)! I was on the edge the whole time while the author kept throwing one punch after the other. I won't go into the story too much, but by now you probably know that they have landed on Centauri Earth. And nothing I saw in the previous two books could have prepared me for what followed.

Murders. Mystery. Monsters.

It was amazing to watch both Amy and Elder grow and stand up for what they believe in. There's a clash of authorities when the frozen crew members wake up and a lot of tension. Even though I had my suspicions about a certain character from the beginning, I couldn't figure out his motifs. Again, I really didn't see that coming, but eventually everything makes sense.

I am so sad to part with this series, especially after the epicness that was Shades of Earth. Five days after finishing it I still keep going back to some paragraphs and I'll definitely reread the whole series soon.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...